Nature as the Teacher

TMA_carrots_Garden

I volunteer at our school garden and today was our scheduled garden day. Due to the extreme heat we are experiencing I had to cancel it. Even though I’ll put it back on the calender next week, I did this with a bit of regret. I know how much the children love it. It is the most gorgeous garden. For me, this is another way of reaching out and helping,  but also a way to get to know other parents. Another way of refining myself.

The entire school, class by class spends time in the garden each month. Each class has a team of parents that help the children who learn by planting, maintaining the garden and composting (they love composting). One of the most interesting things to me is that even the children who do not like to eat fruits or vegetables love going to the garden.  They love harvesting time and celebrate by having salad. Each Tuesday, we can buy some of the harvested fruits and vegetables along with baked goods, lemon pops and green juice, all made with things grown in the garden.

I’m kind of bragging about our school garden because it is truly a labor of love and definitely something to brag about.  This is a description of the garden in the Orange County Register “150 parents involved in the TMA organic Garden and Nature Center, which broke ground in 2008 and is the most extensive school garden in Orange County”.  I think it’s a great place for the children to learn. Next week I’ll write about our time in the garden. Until then, here’s the article that appeared in the Orange County Register.

 Nature as Teacher.

Leave a Reply

