Sharing my life message from my deepest hurts.

“Your greatest life messages and your most effective ministry will come out of your deepest hurts” – Rick Warren

This mornings message from our Pastor confirmed what I already knew. I wrote this post but had been holding back on releasing it because it’s painful. I know that my pain will help someone, someway, somehow. I am looking for ways to channel this hurt and to get my message across. I NEED everyone to understand that your actions can deeply affect other peoples lives. My topic: DRINKING AND DRIVING. I know some people will read it and think, this does not apply to me but it does.

We either have done it or know someone who has. Just because you’ve done something in the past doesn’t mean you can’t change it. You Can! You can help stop it. You can be the designated driver, you take away the keys. You can call 911 if you see someone driving erratically. Some people just keep doing it because they haven’t caught or the they think their past experience drinking and driving is funny.

Recently Jason Priestly was on the Chelsea Handler show and they gave each other a high-five while talking about their past drunk driving experiences. This is NOT funny! It’s not a laughing matter. This is nothing to be proud of. I will take my pastor’s message and run with it.

Here’s the post I’ve been holding back on:

Just about everyone knows my story. I lost my son because some man didn’t  have enough sense to know not to drink and drive. Furthermore, this man didn’t have fear of what would happen if he was caught drinking and driving. The main reason he didn’t fear: there were no repercussions for him.

This man had been “allegedly” caught drinking and driving more then twenty times – that’s right, that’s not a mistype – more then 20 times! He had the system figured out.  He gave different names, changed his name around ( first name as middle name and middle name  as first, etc, etc.)  He didn’t show up for court dates. They can’t convict you if you don’t show up to court.  Bench warrants didn’t scare him either. He had handfuls of warrants. He’s girlfriend wasn’t scared. She let him borrow her uninsured car on the night of the crash. The entire 6 years of the trial, I didn’t see any scared look or reaction from him at all. I never saw any compassion or regretful looks from this man. Believe me, I looked. As much as I hated looking at him, I looked for something that would indicate to me that he was sorry or regretful.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against someone having a drink but don’t drink and drive. I get so upset every time I see people on Facebook giving their friends the “heads up” of a DUI checkpoint. I immediately think “UNFRIEND” but than I get a hold of myself, I know I can’t reach people with my message if I “UNFRIEND” them. So please, If you think your friends are drinking and driving, let them get caught. Let them become afraid of the consequences prior to hurting or killing someone. You could save someone’s life.

This post and picture are from Tustin Police Department’s Facebook page

tustinDUIcheckpoint

On May 9, 2014, the Tustin Police Department Traffic Unit conducted a DUI/Driver’s License Checkpoint on Irvine Blvd. west of Jamboree Rd. As a result, 923 vehicles passed through the checkpoint, 322 drivers were contacted and no DUI arrests was made. Officers issued eight citations for unlicensed drivers and various other California Vehicle Code violations.

The deterrent effect of DUI checkpoints is a proven resource in reducing the number of persons killed and injured in alcohol or drug involved crashes. Research shows that crashes involving an impaired driver can be reduced by up to 20 percent when well-publicized DUI checkpoints and proactive DUI patrols are conducted routinely.In California, this deadly crime led to 774 deaths because someone failed to designate a sober driver. Nationally, the latest data shows nearly 10,000 people are killed each year were killed from impaired driving. “Over the course of the past three years, DUI collisions have claimed 3 lives and resulted in 51 injury crashes impacting members of our Tustin community,” said Sgt. Brian Greene.Recent statistics reveal that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent). Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), checkpoints have provided the most effective documented results of any of the DUI enforcement strategies, while also yielding considerable cost savings of $6 for every $1 spent. Nearly 90 percent of California drivers approve of DUI checkpoints.

DUI Checkpoints are placed in locations based on collision statistics and frequency of DUI arrests affording the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving deterrence. Locations are chosen with safety considerations for the officers and the public.

Funding for this checkpoint is provided to Tustin Police Department by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to ‘Report Drunk Drivers – Call 9-1-1’.

Leave a Reply

