You Say Potato I Say Potahto

 

wpid-20140522_140014.jpg

Either way you prefer to say it didn’t seem to matter to the kids at the garden yesterday.

Our class harvested the potatoes they planted in January. They absolutely loved it! It is so exciting to see kids excited about gardening.

They learned the entire process by doing. Our kids now know how to plant and grow potatoes but the most obvious reward for them was digging those beauties out of the ground.

No one cared about getting dirty or that their classmate just tossed dirt on them, they just keep digging. Every time one of them would find a potato we would hear the joyous sounds of a child  yelling “I found one”!

Everyone went home with potatoes. My daughters were both so anxious to prepare and eat their potatoes for dinner. I originally choose to volunteer in the garden not only because I love to garden but also because this the one spot at school that I could bring my little one along with me. They both had a great time digging into the earth to gather potatoes. I was thinking of finding another way of volunteering at school next year but all of this enthusiasm might have just sealed the deal for  my commitment in the garden for next year.

 

wpid-20140522_140000.jpgwpid-20140522_133847.jpgwpid-20140522_133532.jpg

Leave a Reply

