Easy Peasy No-Cook Refrigerator Oatmeal

 

refrigerator-oatmeal-meusli
 (pictures and recipes from http://www.grocerybudget101.com/)
My Mother-in-Law came to visit a couple of weeks ago and shared with me how she soaks her oatmeal in water overnight. I tired it and liked it so I went to the internet in search of more soaked oatmeal recipes. I found these Refrigerator Oatmeal recipes from http://www.grocerybudget101.com/content.php/611-Easy-Refrigerator-Oatmeal. Can I just say I feel like Jasmine singing a “Whole New World”.
These recipes are great on the budget and very healthy. I put one together last night. My daughters and I enjoyed out Refrigerator Oatmeal this morning. This is soooo easy and filling, I’m still full from breakfast.
I changed this basic recipe a little bit. I was all out of yogurt so I substituted it with cottage cheese. I used half almond milk and half water. For the fruit, I used dried cranberries, for some crunch I used sliced almonds and ground Chia to thicken it up. I also used a little bit of Agave to add some sweetness. It was great!
By the way, if you don’t have mason jars don’t let this stop you from trying these recipes. I used a plastic container with a tight lid and made a big batch for the family.
Here’s the recipe from http://www.grocerybudget101.com/)
Refrigerator Oatmeal Basic Recipe 

You’ll Need:
1/4 c. Old fashioned rolled oats, uncooked
1/3 c. vanilla almond milk (Homemade or store bought)
1/4 c. vanilla yogurt
2 tsp chia seeds

(see below for various flavor choices!)

Assemble your ingredients:

refrigerator-oatmeal-2

Measure the rolled oats, chia seeds, yogurt and almond milk into the mason jar, put the cover on, seal and shake to combine.

refrigerator-oatmeal-3

Uncap and and add your choice of fruit & flavorings from the list below. Replace the lid and attach the jar seal tightly, use within 4 days.

Refrigerator Oatmeal Amazing Flavors:

 

Leave a Reply

