Girl Scout Brownie meeting – end of year celebration

Last night was our end of year celebration for my Brownie troop. The majority of the of my Brownies voted on having a “candy” party at the park. They wanted to eat candy,  play games, to have no parents or siblings in attendance, have music to eat pizza and have more candy.

I went to target and bought brightly colored plates, napkins, tablecloths and cutlery that all went in line with their “candy” theme. I bought popcorn, cookies and of course, candy. My head was spinning walking through the candy aisle. I had text my co-leader to refocus. I kept walking through the aisle, I couldn’t  think anymore. Not only is this stuff unhealthy, it’s expensive.
wpid-20140627_180706.jpg

Thanks to her, I was able to refocus and complete the shopping. I ordered 2 pizzas from Costco and (for my sanity) bought a veggie and fruit tray, which almost all the girls ate.

Here’s my agenda for the party:

Pre-meeting: 15 minutes/6:15-6:30

Playtime at the playground

Opening: 5 minutes/6:30-6:35

Flag, Promise and Law

Snack/Dinner: 30 minutes/6:35-7:05

Pizza time/Candy time

Games/crafts: 25 minutes/7:05-7:30

Make Felt Pipe Cleaner bubble wands and have some bubble time

Balloon Games

Frisbee Golf

Family/Closing Time: 15 minutes/7:30-7:45

Pass out Badge Bags

Special Thank You’s to parents who went above and beyond

Here’s how the party actually went:

Bubble time (without the pipe cleaner bubble wand craft) playtime at the park, eat, playtime at the park, get badge bags, special thank you’s and it was over.

wpid-20140627_185141.jpg

So much for all the planning. It was their party, they re-planned it and had fun. One girl said “this is the best party ever”. This party was definitely girl led!

Leave a Reply

