Girl Scout Brownie Meeting – Snacks Badge

Friday night was our back to scouting meeting. I talked about being nervous in my previous post but everything went great!

One of the big differences for my troop this years is that we will be bouncing around for our meeting space.

Last year we meet at a local church which was great but it’s not looking like an option for us this year. The good thing about meeting at one of the parents homes is that we will have the freedom of covering some badges like “Snacks” which really needs a kitchen to complete.

wpid-20140912_193159-1.jpg

I wanted to stress healthy eating habits through this badge, so I sliced, diced and roasted some veggies for them to work with. Well….my Brownies didn’t really like the “healthy”stuff I brought for them. Thank goodness our meeting was hosted by one of the parents because she saved the healthy face pizzas with cheese. Here’s the agenda:

Pre-meeting: 15 minutes/6:15-6:30

Healthy/Unhealthy food Crossword puzzles

Opening: 5 minutes/6:30-6:35

Flag, Promise and Law

Business: 20 minutes/6:35-6:55

Welcome back    
Share one special things they did during summer
Discuss what to work on this year

Exploration: 15 minutes/6:55- 7:10

Snacks -Step #1 -Good vs. Bad food poster

Create: 25 minutes/7:15 -7:35

Snacks – Step #2 make a veggie face (pizza) & Step #5 make your own fruit smoothie

        Snack time: 5 minutes/7:35-7:40

Closing/Friendship Circle 5 minutes/7:40-7:45

The meeting went along smoothly until I brought out the hummus and veggies for our healthy face pizzas. Only one girl liked the hummus (which happened to be my daughter). As I said earlier, the parent host brought out some cheese and put the pizzas in the oven. The girls all had a good time building their pizzas.

wpid-2014-09-15_11.36.10.jpg

As far as the smoothies went – overall that went well. I included the girls in on how much of what ingredient to put in. The first batch came out a little tart. The parent host again, saved the snack by bringing out some honey  to make the second batch of smoothies a little sweeter (but I liked the tart batch).

Overall the meeting went very well and I was actually glad that not everyone liked everything. It teaches them to deal with adversity and how they how to make the best of situations. They all handled themselves very well. I’m proud of my Brownies! As for myself, I learned to provide alternatives, not everyone likes hummus (although I’m not sure why, I love hummus). wpid-2014-09-15_11.41.54.jpg

It felt good to be back leading my Brownies and to see them again. Next meeting we will be covering our Potter Badge at an art studio, I’ll update you next time, until then…Happy Scouting!

Leave a Reply

